My 2017 Oscars Predictions! Part Two!

oscar-guy

Image by The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

With another week in February past us, it’s time to move forward with the second installment of my Oscar predictions! In this segment, I focus on more of the technical categories leading up to what I like to call the Big 6, which will be the focus of my final installment. Buckle up and here we go!

Best Original Song:

  • “Audition (The Fools Who Dream)”-La La Land
  • “Can’t Stop the Feeling”-Trolls
  • “City of Stars”-La La Land
  • “The Empty Chair”-Jim
  • “How Far I’ll Go”-Moana

I predict that the Oscar will go to: “Audition (The Fools Who Dream)”-La La Land

Best Score:

  • Micachu, Jackie
  • Justin Hurwitz, La La Land
  • Dustin O’Halloran and Hauschka, Lion
  • Nicholas Britell, Moonlight
  • Thomas Newman, Passengers

I predict that the Oscar will go to: Justin Hurwitz, La La Land

justinhurwitzwhiplashpremieresla3ktudnbfb2ml

Image by Michael Buckner/Getty Images North America

Best Editing:

  • Joe Walker, Arrival
  • John Gilbert, Hacksaw Ridge
  • Jake Roberts, Hell or High Water
  • Tom Cross, La La Land
  • Nat Sanders and Joi McMillon, Moonlight

I predict that the Oscar will go to: Tom Cross, La La Land

tomcrossacademyawardsnomineeluncheongk65ocrky2ml

Image by Frazer Harrison/Getty Images North America

Best Cinematography:

  • Bradford Young, Arrival
  • Linus Sandgren, La La Land
  • Greg Fraser, Lion
  • James Laxton, Moonlight
  • Rodrigo Prieto, Silence

I predict that the Oscar will go to: James Laxton, Moonlight

arton11390

Image by François Reumont pour l’AFC

Best Original Screenplay:

  • Taylor Sheridan, Hell or High Water
  • Damien Chazelle, La La Land
  • Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthimis Filippou, The Lobster
  • Kenneth Lonergan, Manchester by the Sea
  • Mike Mills, 20th Century Women

I predict that the Oscar will go to: Damien Chazelle, La La Land

mv5bmje2mzcyoda3mv5bml5banbnxkftztgwnta3ntu2mje-_v1_uy317_cr50214317_al_

Image by Alberto E. Rodriguez

Best Adapted Screenplay:

  • Eric Heisserer, Arrival
  • August Wilson, Fences
  • Allison Schroeder and Theodore Melfi, Hidden Figures
  • Luke Davies, Lion
  • Barry Jenkins, Moonlight

I predict that the Oscar will go to: Barry Jenkins, Moonlight

barry

Image by IndieWire

For the full list of nominees, click here!

For Part One of my Oscar predictions, click here!

For Part Three of my Oscar predictions, come back here next week!

One thought on “My 2017 Oscars Predictions! Part Two!

Leave a Reply

