Movies of the Week: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story and La La Land

Two of my most anticipated films of the year finally arrive in theaters this week and if the rumblings I’ve heard are true, I’m in for a very good week. First, let’s go back to a galaxy far, far away. We know about how the plans for the Empire’s ultimate fell into the hands of a young boy who worked on his uncle’s moisture farm by means of two droids but do we really know how? The spotlight will shine on a ragtag team of rebels undertaking a dangerous mission to steal the plans for the original Death Star to deliver to the Rebel Alliance in the hopes of creating an ultimate weapon of their own: hope. Rogue One: A Star Wars Story finally arrives into theaters!

Director: Gareth Edwards

Screenwriter: Chris Weitz and Tony Gilroy

Cast: Felicity Jones, Riz Ahmed, Diego Luna, Donnie Yen, Alan Tudyk, Ben Mendelsohn, Mads Mikkelsen, Wen Jiang, Jimmy Smits, Genevieve O’Reilly, Forest Whitaker and the voice of James Earl Jones.

What am I expecting to see?: Truthfully, I’m more hyped for this movie than I was for The Force Awakens because the plot for this film is more engaging to me than the continuation for the episodic installments. I hope that Rogue One is more engaging to me than The Force Awakens because this movie details the events that set the original Star Wars trilogy into motion and I want to believe that the Force is strong with this picture.

The next film that I hope to see this weekend is of interest to me because Damien Chazelle made one of the best films I’ve seen in years. The acclaimed writer and director of Whiplash has a new picture that is set to soundtrack of a completely original musical starring Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone, portraying a jazz pianist and an aspiring actress. La La Land has been poised as the film to beat in many awards circuits and the opportunity has finally presented itself to me, to judge what the fools who dream can do.

Director: Damien Chazelle

Screenwriter: Damien Chazelle

Cast: Ryan Gosling, Emma Stone, John Legend, J.K. Simmons, Jason Fuchs, Finn Wittrock, Josh Pence and Rosemarie DeWitt.

What am I expecting to see?: This has looked like the film to beat for some time now and it was showered in glory at the Critics Choice Awards as well as the Golden Globe nominations (which I will post shortly) and by God, this looks absolutely gorgeous! Damien Chazelle blew me away with Whiplash, I hope that La La Land lives up to my own lofty expectations.

Leave a Reply

