Movie of the Week: Inferno

This week seems like a reversal from my perspective. I just saw a beautiful and profound film last weekend, so why am I seeing a potential flop this weekend? I do not know but at least I’ll be seeing something and writing about something. To say that the Dan Brown film series has been underwhelming is a grand understatement but for the life of me I grab some fulfillment out of these movies. Now Professor Robert Langdon is drawn into a new historical scavenger hunt in the effort to thwart an extinction-level event that takes the term “hell on earth” to literal proportions. Inferno arrives in theaters this week.

What am I expecting to see?: Truth be told if Inferno is entertaining on some level I’ll be satisfied yet I don’t expect this to be great in any sense of the term. Tom Hanks is back as Professor Robert Langdon, hero symbologist aided by Felicity Jones, who has positioned herself to have a monster fall-winter in 2016 with Ron Howard back to direct. David Koepp has adapted Brown’s novel to the screen and Hanks and Jones will be supported by Ben Foster, Omar Sy, Irrfan Khan, Sidse Babette Knudsen, Ana Ularu among others. If Inferno can at least smolder rather than completely burn, that should be victory enough for this film.

Leave a Reply

