Movie of the Week: Free State of Jones

Surprised? I bet you were thinking I would invest in another particular summer sequel that is set to premiere this week, but no! I found myself unwilling to commit to that movie so I found a viable alternative in Free State of Jones starring Oscar winner Matthew McConaughey. Based on a true story, McConaughey plays Confederate soldier Newton Knight, who finds himself disillusioned after the loss of his son and in his grief elects to turn against the Southern rebellion and ally himself with like-minded individuals, such as slaves, turncoats, rebels, sympathizers and take the fight to the South.

What am I expecting to see?: Honestly I needed a break from the slew of summer sequels and this was the closest thing to something interesting I could find. I’m familiar with Gary Ross’ work and I may be entertained by this movie, which I expect to be marginally average at best. The cast doesn’t really look like much outside of McConaughey, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Mahershala Ali, Keri Russell and Sean Bridgers. I don’t expect Free State of Jones to be an Oscar caliber feat.  I just want to see something outside of the scope of highly anticipated blockbusters for a change. Is that too much to ask?

Leave a Reply

