Five Reasons Why Zack Snyder Should Not Direct Justice League

Image by Eva Rinaldi, via Wikimedia Commons

It has been almost a month since I witnessed firsthand the cataclysmic meltdown that was my most anticipated film of 2016. In case you missed it, I went into my screening of Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice, thinking that this movie would take off like a harrier jet capable of breaking the sound barrier. Instead, the result was worse than the Hindenburg if you ask me. Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice laid the foundation for the DC Cinematic Entertainment Universe, that will set forward the foundations of films such as Wonder Woman, The Flash, Aquaman, Cyborg, Green Lantern Corps, Ben Affleck’s standalone Batman feature and (hopefully) Shazam! (If Dwayne Johnson can seriously commit to the project). Again, it has been a month since the fallout and the more I think about it, the more I believe that the future of Justice League Pts I and II, would be in better hands instead of Zack Snyder’s. I have, at least, five reasons why Zack Snyder needs to be removed, demoted, replaced, whatever you wish to call it!

  1. He has taken the franchise as far as he could-With Man of Steel & Batman v. Superman, Zack Snyder has sewn the seeds of a universe that could reap vast sums of money for Warner Bros. and DC Entertainment. He’s laid out Superman’s revamped and reimagined origins story, he has effectively introduced Batman and other key members of the league, but I feel that he has gone as far as he could go with this and furthering his position at this juncture and leaving Justice League in his hands, I feel is a recipe for disaster. I think Zack Snyder has taken this enterprise to a place where he or the powers that be (the executive producers at Warner Bros.) need to sit down and find someone else to give Justice League the gravitas it deserves.
  2. Justice League needs more than just visual appeal!-“Pretty to look at but not much beneath the surface,” no I’m not describing a stereotypical supermodel, I’m describing Zack Snyder’s body of work thus far. Be it 300, Watchmen, Sucker Punch, Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice, Zack Snyder always has this tendency to favor the aesthetic visual tone of his films at the expense of subduing the plot and that cannot happen with Justice League Pts I and II! These two movies have a lot riding on them and they need a filmmaker who can appropriately balance the visual and the narrative in order to win audiences over, whether they liked Man of Steel and Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice or not. There needs to be a compelling plot that can draw audiences in and drive the films forward and it needs to balance with whatever gorgeous imagery will come.
  3. Image by cowboysrideforfree

    The results speak for themselvesBatman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice shattered records on its opening weekend, which isn’t surprising considering many, including myself, had high expectations for the film when it was released. The next weekend, it’s box office earnings plummeted amidst of mostly bad-to-mediocre reviews and word of mouth. Next thing we’re hearing is that Warner Bros. is planning to reshuffle its release volumes considering that they haven’t had a great degree of success with their pictures, not to mention they didn’t see the profitable returns they were hoping for from Snyder’s anticipated superhero outing. Now attention turns to Suicide Squad, which coincidently had to implement reshoots to infuse a little humor in an abundantly dark plot. The studio recognizes that there is an issue that needs to be addressed, which leads to

  4. Actions must have consequences-When Fantastic Four bombed-and boy did it!-director Josh Trank was thrown in the proverbial “director’s jail” along with all of the baggage he brought with him during production. The aftereffect was that it cost him his opportunity to direct a Star Wars movie, supposedly Rogue One: A Star Wars Story. Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice didn’t so much as bomb but extremely disappoint yet Zack Snyder is reportedly confirmed to be locked in to direct Justice League Pts I and II. With the fallout of his highly anticipated sequel-of-sorts to Man of Steel, growing more and more, there needs to be consequences for what happened. I’m not saying “fire him” but I beg the producers at Warner Bros. to sit down and actively discuss the idea of “finding a director who can bring Justice League to its zenith that is not Zack Snyder.”
  5. Image by Warner Bros

    Zack Snyder’s movies just don’t do “it” for me-When I was in high school, almost everyone was going gaga over 300. When I finally had my opportunity to see it, my impression was “really? This is what everyone was going crazy over?” My next Snyder film I believe was Watchmen and that wasn’t exactly a winner for me either. Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga’Hoole was alright, Sucker Punch was dreadful, I appreciated Man of Steel for what it was but it was certainly different, and you all know my stance on Batman v. Superman. My track record with Zack Snyder’s films is not good and I cannot express how much I don’t want to hate Justice League when it arrives in theaters! As a fan of comic book mythology you cannot imagine how much I don’t want to hate Justice League! I want Justice League to hit the grand slam when it makes it into theaters and I want to love Justice League Pts I and II! Under Zack Snyder’s direction, that is venturing into particularly dangerous territory!

I want it on record saying that I’m writing this out of respect of the work Zack Snyder has done so far and out of concern about the future of the DC Cinematic Entertainment Universe. I thought the Supergirl crossover with the CW’s The Flash had more entertainment value than Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice; that’s just the place I’m coming from. Here is the lineup for all of the DC movies going into the future. Count on the fact that I’ll be in line waiting and ready to blog about all of them!

Image by Warner Bros

“Suicide Squad” – August 5, 2016
“Wonder Woman” – June 2, 2017
“Justice League: Part 1” – November 17, 2017
“The Flash” – March 16, 2018
“Aquaman” – July 27, 2018
“Untitled DC Film” — October 5, 2018
“Shazam” – April 5, 2019
“Justice League: Part 2” – June 14, 2019
“Untitled DC Film” — November 1, 2019
“Cyborg” – April 3, 2020
“Green Lantern Corps” – June 19, 2020

2 thoughts on “Five Reasons Why Zack Snyder Should Not Direct Justice League

Leave a Reply

