The 3 Reasons Why I’m Team Iron Man

As you may or may not have known, a couple of this year’s most anticipated superhero adventures are asking “Who’s Side Are You On?” or “Who Will Win?” The latter question, I will take the time to address later but the first question applies to Captain America: Civil War. The new trailer dropped recently and viewers were given a sense as to the philosophies driving friends-now-adversaries Captain America and Iron Man. In case you missed the trailer, you’re welcome

Anyway after much soul-searching and thorough analysis of the plot and where both main characters are coming from, I have chosen the team to stand behind in Captain America: Civil War.

It was not an easy choice to make and I had respect for both Avengers but ultimately I allied with Tony Stark over the title character. Yeah I get that Iron Man created Ultron and led the Marvel Cinematic Universe to its current and turbulent state but no one is perfect. What led me to Team Iron Man? Three reasons.

  1. Cap is too old-school for his own good! Captain America believes that the world can trust the Avengers based on their track record, but while the record can speak for itself, the collateral damage that goes hand-in-hand with it cannot be ignored. Both Captain America and Iron Man are responsible for the state of the world and Thunderbolt Ross said it best: “people are afraid.” The world can’t bring itself to work the way Cap expects and accountability must taken. I see where both sides are coming from and I think Cap resisting to abide by the Sokovia Accords lands him on the side I think is wrong.
  2. Redemption. Tony Stark is the reason why Ultron happened, and he wants to make up for the damage he has done. In trying to destroy HYDRA, Cap had to destroy S.H.I.E.L.D.; I reiterate both sides are responsible for the state of the world, but in seeing that Tony wants the Avengers to abide by the Sokovia Accords and allow the government to keep heroes in check, I think he is more in the vein of what the people want and need and he’s coming from a place where he wants to make up for what he has done. That’s what I found so appealing about the character going back to the first Iron Man film.
  3. Image by Marvel

    The Winter Soldier. This is perhaps the most important reason why I chose to side with the Machine over the Soldier. At the end of Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Cap was trying to convince the HYDRA assassin of who he really was: Bucky Barnes, Cap’s oldest and best friend. The Winter Soldier saved Rogers and went to Cap’s memorial at the Smithsonian to find out who Bucky Barnes is. Cap allegedly finds his “old friend,” then these Sokovia Accords are implemented across the planet, the Avengers are fractured and Baron Zemo is supposedly behind the scenes watching all of this chaos take place. Coincidence? I think not. I’m not convinced that Cap has his old friend back and I think Cap is making a mistake trusting the Winter Solider over Iron Man. I just feel as though Cap is being used.

If not for reason #3 I would be leaning toward Team Cap, but ultimately I think Cap’s faith in his restored “friend” will be his undoing. Captain America: Civil War stars Chris Evans, Robert Downey Jr., Scarlett Johansson, Jeremy Renner, Sebastian Stan, Chadwick Boseman, Elizabeth Olsen, Paul Rudd, Tom Holland, Anthony Mackie, Paul Bettany, Don Cheadle, Daniel Brühl, Martin Freeman, Emily VanCamp and William Hurt. The Russo Brothers are at the helm of this epic tussle. The film that launches Phase Three of the Marvel Cinematic Universe arrives in theaters on May 6, 2016.

2 thoughts on “The 3 Reasons Why I’m Team Iron Man

Leave a Reply

