Movies of the Week: Spectre & The Peanuts Movie

I take one week off from film blogging, just one, and the next thing I know, I roll into what looks like the busiest November of film blogging I’ve ever come across. Well anyway, lets just jump right into the swing of things and handle what is coming and what is coming this week are two headline-grabbing features with iconic characters: one is a smooth-operating operative with a license to kill, the other is an optimist with one of the coolest dogs a kid could possible call a friend.

Charles Schultz’ iconic cast of characters are coming back to the big screen in a high-flying adventure. Charlie Brown, Snoopy, Woodstock, Lucy, Sally, Peppermint Patty, Schroeder, Pigpen, the gang is all here in The Peanuts Movie. Each character has his or her own little adventure but none more important than Charlie Brown, who aims to overcome his own shortcomings to win the affections of a new light of his life.

What am I expecting to see?: Maybe I wasn’t the biggest fan of The Peanuts series growing up, I appreciated them and recognized their status in comic legend, but I think this could be one of the most adorable films of the year. Charlie Brown is the ultimate underdog and underdog stories are always popular, and truthfully I think The Peanuts Movie could contend for Best Animated feature at the Oscars. I think director Steve Martino and writers, Brian and Craig Schultz, and Cornelius Uliano could craft something whimsical and special.

Bond is Back! Daniel Craig’s fourth outing as 007 is titled Spectre. In the 24th installment of the James Bond franchise, Bond is drawn into a devious game as a message from his past emerges and lands him into a collision course with a nefarious and cryptic organization with an unprecedented reach.

What am I expecting to see?: I’ve been looking forward to this one for a long time! I absolutely lauded Skyfall and I think the recipe is there for Spectre to be as big as hit. I think the team behind Skyfall, including Sam Mendes, Neal Purvis, Robert Wade, Jez Butterworth and John Logan, and the cast including Ralph Fiennes, Naomi Harris, Ben Whishaw, Monica Belluci, Léa Seydoux, Dave Bautista, Christoph Waltz, Andrew Scott, Rory Kinnear, Stephanie Sigman and Jesper Christensen will all add excitement to the feature. I hope Spectre will be the most thrilling Bond yet.

Leave a Reply

