Movies of the Week: The Walk and Steve Jobs

The documentary Man on Wire was a highly praised work of cinema, touting the courage, ingenuity, and daring of Phillipe Petit, the man who accomplished a death-defying feat that no one will ever follow. The year is 1974 and upon his arrival in the Big Apple, he makes a declaration he intends to follow through on:

I’m going to hang a high-wire between the two towers of the World Trade Center and walk on it!

He assembles a team from every corner of the world for this feat and against all odds, he lives his dream. Robert Zemeckis makes a feature length film adaptation as a counterpart to Man on Wire, starring Joseph Gordon-Levitt as Phillipe Petit. His new film is called The Walk.

What am I expecting to see?: Honestly I have reservations about this film, but I will not deny that this is another film that boasts beautiful visuals that look positively heart-stopping in 3D. I’m curious regarding why Robert Zemeckis elected to make this feature even though anyone can learn what they need to from the documentary. Still I can’t escape the positive whispers I hear regarding The Walk, I like Robert Zemeckis’ films, I’m a Joseph Gordon-Levitt fan, so I’ll give this a shot and see it in 3D.

The last biopic of Steve Jobs was awful. Now we have another one and this one looks professionally well done. Even though I’m a PC guy, I do recognize that Apple founder Steve Jobs was an innovator and a loose-cannon whose leadership skills were polarizing to those around him. From Oscar winning director Danny Boyle and Oscar winning screenwriter Aaron Sorkin, Steve Jobs is the second attempt to do justice by the late tech-mogul.

What am I expecting to see?: I believe that this will be the year’s first high-caliber contender at the Academy Awards next February. Danny Boyle is an incredible filmmaker, I’m in awe of the writing prowess of Aaron Sorkin, and I think Michael Fassbender is going to have a career year this year; he looks absolutely outstanding portraying Steve Jobs and I believe he has the best chance to win Best Actor in a Leading Role. The rest of the cast including Seth Rogen, Kate Winslet and Jeff Daniels looks amazing and I’ve been looking forward to Steve Jobs for a while now. I believe this film will be a knockout!

Leave a Reply

