Movies of the Week: Everest and Sicario

Tibet and Mexico have been featured in the news over the last few months. This week, they will be the settings of two of my featured films. The first is Everest. It takes grit to climb the highest mountain in the world. A select few have taken the expedition to ascend Mt. Everest and lived to tell the tale, I cannot call myself one of those select few because I know my body cannot handle the strain, but the story of two climbers reveal the perils that come with climbing towards greatness.

What am I expecting to see?: Watching the trailer for Everest reminded me of the experience of watching Gravity and the plot of both films are so similar that I hope I come away with the same experience. I don’t expect Everest to be as good as Gravity but I think Baltasar Kormákur will put on a hell of a show, I think Simon Beaufoy and William Nicholson can craft a good screenplay about this terrifying storm and the climbing teams trying to endure the storm, conditions and the descent from Everest. I don’t expect much from the cast even though the cast includes Josh Brolin, Jake Gyllenhaal, John Hawkes, Jason Clarke, Sam Worthington, Keira Knightley, Elizabeth Debicki and Robin Wright. I will be seeing this in 3D and I expect Everest to potentially dethrone Mad Max: Fury Road as the film with the Best Visual Effects so far this year.

For an idealistic FBI agent, a business trip to Mexico spirals into a descent into darkness. Denis Villeneuve’s new feature Sicario stars Emily Blunt whose character is assigned to collaborate with a specialized task force whose mission is to halt the escalation in the war on drugs along the Mexican-American border. This task force includes an unpredictable operative with a sketchy agenda, presumably this man is a professional hitman, or if you use the language of those South of the Border, a Sicario.

What am I expecting to see?: I was thoroughly impressed with Denis Villeneuve’s previous feature Prisoners and Sicario looks to be another highlight in Villeneuve’s rising career. Sicario looks thrilling, Emily Blunt looks as if she’s in total control in this film, Benecio Del Toro looks outstanding, Josh Brolin looks steady and I hope Taylor Sheridan’s screenplay is sharp, brave and as gritty as it can get. I’ve been looking forward to Sicario for some time now and I hope my expectations are met.

Leave a Reply

