Movie of the Week: Black Mass

For some time now, I’ve noticed that one of my favorite actors, Johnny Depp, has been in something of a slump. He has tended to gravitate towards roles like Captain Jack Sparrow or the Mad Hatter and he just hasn’t been “good” in anything since his Oscar nominated turn in Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street. From what I understand, that could change with his new feature and my feature of the week; Depp steps into the skin of the most notorious gangster in American history: James “Whitey” Bulger. Directed by Scott Cooper, Depp stars in Black Mass.

What am I expecting to see?: From what I understand, the ingredients are there for the recipe for Black Mass to be a success. Cooper is a competent filmmaker with a respectable resume, Depp leads a relatively sturdy cast including Benedict Cumberbatch, Joel Edgerton, Kevin Bacon, Dakota Johnson, Jesse Plemons and Corey Stoll, Black Mass has a violent and grim demeanor to it and I hope that this is the movie that puts Johnny Depp back on the map as as an intense and versatile performer. I expect Black Mass to be a gripping drama.

Leave a Reply

