Movie of the Week: Straight Outta Compton

I’m not much of a hip-hop guy, and as a San Diego Chargers fan I naturally scowl at the presence of horrid Raiders apparel, but this week I’m taking a look at the world’s most dangerous group, whose story is coming to theaters. Dr. Dre, Eazy-E and Ice Cube were at the forefront of a musical and cultural revolution that defined a generation as the trio formed the group NWA. Their songs and tales from their neighborhood took to the airwaves and it led to a rise to superstardom and legend. The world’s most dangerous group came Straight Outta Compton.

What am I expecting to see?: Something with shock-value. August 2015 at the movies started with a resounding thud, and I’m hoping that Straight Outta Compton puts something fresh on the table in a manner of speaking. I believe director F. Gary Gray and writers Jonathan Herman and Andrea Berloff made a movie that fits the social climate right now and I’m eager to see what the cast of O’Shea Jackson Jr., Corey Hawkins, Jason Mitchell, Alexandra Shipp, Paul Giamatti and Neil Brown Jr. are capable of. I’m not sure what I’m getting myself into with Straight Outta Compton but I think this will be a shock to the system, Raiders garb or no.

Leave a Reply

