Movies of the week: Irrational Man & Southpaw

There were a plethora of films that I wanted to see last week, but I couldn’t manage to see all of them. One of them was the latest from veteran filmmaker Woody Allen, starring the incredible Joaquin Phoenix as a tormeted philosophy professor at a crossroads. When he commits an existential act, life as he knows it begins to open up and perspective begins to shift. Starring Emma Stone, Parker Posey, Joe Stapleton, Betsy Aidem, Jamie Blackley and Ethan Phillips, the latest from Woody Allen is called Irrational Man.

What am I expecting to see?: I’m always fascinated by Woody Allen’s films and I’m a fan of both Joaquin Phoenix and Emma Stone. Irrational Man may seem a little flat on the surface but there may be something beneath the surface. When it comes to current Woody Allen pictures, they could go either way; I could either truly enjoy it like I did with Midnight in Paris or I could find it tedious like I did with Blue Jasmine. I want Irrational Man to fall into the former.

To this day, I still believe that Jake Gyllenhaal gave the best lead acting performance of last year with his performance in Nightcrawler and I’m still steamed that he wasn’t recognized for that. I hope history doesn’t repeat itself because Gyllenhaal looks like he is in rare form with Southpaw, Antoine Fuqua’s boxing drama. Gyllenhaal is Billy Hope, a prizefighter whose rise to power comes at the consequences of the fallout of his personal life.

What am I expecting to see?: No one has to tell me that Jake Gyllenhaal is phenomenal and he looks like he is pulling no punches with his performance. He certainly has a capable ensemble around him with Rachel McAdams, Forest Whitaker, 50 Cent, Naomie Harris, Oona Lawrence. I believe Southpaw can be a crowdpleaser, I think Gyllenhaal can put himself in the conversation for Best Actor at the end of this year, I’m looking forward to this film.

Leave a Reply

