Movie of the week: Far from the Madding Crowd

Last week’s featured movie should be described as explosive. This week, my attention turns to something more sedate. Screenwriter David Nicholls and director Thomas Vinterberg attempt to adapt the critically acclaimed novel written by Thomas Hardy into a successful independent motion picture, starring one of my favorite actresses Carey Mulligan. Set in Victorian England, Bathsheba Everdeen has come into a substantial inheritance from her uncle and her new status and title has brought complications across her path. Complications in the forms of three different classes of men eager to win her heart and hand, and the independent Miss Everdeen is torn between all of them. This is Far from the Madding Crowd.

What am I expecting to see?: Ever since the calendar changed from 2014 to 2015, I’ve been determined to broaden my horizons and see more independent and foreign films including documentaries in the ambition to become a more well-rounded critic. Far From the Madding Crowd, looks like a fascinating piece with the promise of a feminist undertone to it. I’ve been a Carey Mulligan fan since I saw An Education a few years back and I confess that I haven’t seen anything from her in a while, so I’m hopeful that my fandom is refreshed. I’m not entirely familiar with the cast and crew and the genre of this may not be my cup of tea, but I want to be surprised by this. I’m hopeful that Far from the Madding Crowd is different enough to appease my appetite for something fresh.

Leave a Reply

