Movie of the week: Home

After two weeks away, I think I finally have a featured film for this week in the animated comedy adventure from DreamWorks. I’ll just cut to chase, I have not been even remotely impressed with the movies released this year and it doesn’t appear that Home will fare much better yet it seems to be the only interesting movie coming out in theaters this week. DreamWorks’ latest animated romp is about an clumsy alien named Jar Jar Binks Oh, who has become something of a fugitive to his species. He finds refuge on, you-guessed-it, Earth where he meets a girl named Hushpuppy Tip who is on a quest to find her mother. The two of them together, along with Tip’s cat, embark on a road trip where all hell looks like it is breaking loose and just going padded walls crazy. What the hell? I’m tired of being cooped up at home, oh look a pun! I’ll give this a shot.

What am I expecting to see?: I’m not exactly enthusiastic about Home, but considering this is the same studio behind How to Train Your Dragon, which explains some of the similar themes and motifs between the two animated pictures, I reiterate: I’ll give this a shot. The voice talents of Rihanna, “Big Bang Theory”‘s Jim Parsons, Jennifer Lopez, Steve Martin and Matt Jones are diverse for so many colorful characters. This is also the first time DreamWorks has ever had a leading African-American female character in an animated feature, so it has that going for it. Director Tim Johnson and screenwriters Tom Astle and Matt Ember have the chance to change the landscape of films released in 2015. I really hope Home exceeds my floor level expectations.

Leave a Reply

