2015 Oscar Predictions Part I

The 87th Academy Awards are on the horizon and the time has come for predictions

With the 87th Annual Academy Awards only a few weeks away, now seems as good of a time as any to throw my two cents into the fold as to who will come out victorious on February 22nd. In the past, I’ve always focused on what I like to call the Big Eight, the four acting categories, the two screenplay categories, Best Director and Best Picture, but this year, I want to get into the habit of taking my predictions to a new level; instead I will extensively predict 18 of the major Oscar categories in a three part series. The first two parts will consist of the technical categories, the final part will be the acting categories, Best Director and Best Picture and on Oscar night I will cover the event on my blog and Twitter page. Let’s get started with Part I of my 2015 Oscar Predictions.

Best Documentary:

  • Citizenfour
  • Finding Vivian Maier
  • Last Days in Vietnam
  • The Salt of the Earth
  • Viruga

I predict that the Oscar will go to: Citizenfour

Laura Poitras’ intense documentary about infamous NSA whistleblower Michael Snowden

Best Foreign Language Film:

  • Ida (Poland)
  • Leviathan (Russia)
  • Tangerines Manderiinid (Estonia)
  • Timbuktu (Mauritania)
  • Wild Tales (Argentina)

I predict that the Oscar will go to:  Ida (Poland)

Pawel Pawlikowski’s Polish drama about an aspiring nun who discovers a dark secret in her family’s history

Best Makeup and Hairstyling:

  • Foxcatcher
  • The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Guardians of the Galaxy

I predict that the Oscar will go to: Guardians of the Galaxy

Marvel Comics’ adaptation about a small band of outlaws who become the galaxy’s last line of defense

Best Production Design:

  • The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • The Imitation Game
  • Interstellar
  • Into the Woods
  • Mr. Turner

I predict that the Oscar will go to: The Grand Budapest Hotel

Wes Anderson’s grand period piece adventure about legendary concierge and his lobby boy in a prestigious European hotel

Best Visual Effects:

  • Captain America: the Winter Soldier
  • Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
  • Guardians of the Galaxy
  • Interstellar
  • X-Men: Days of Future Past

I predict that the Oscar will go to: Interstellar

Christopher Nolan’s sensory overloading sci-fi epic about a group of explorers who discover a wormhole to an undiscovered galaxy

Best Animated Feature:

  • Big Hero 6
  • The Boxtrolls
  • How to Train Your Dragon 2
  • Song of the Sea
  • The Tale of Princess Kaguya

I predict that the Oscar will go to: How to Train Your Dragon 2

Dean DeBlois’ beautiful sequel about Hiccup and his best friend Toothless opposed against a war-monger bent on vengeance

That concludes Part One. Next week I will add Part Two and the week after that Part Three. The Oscar nominees can be found here and the Oscars will occur on February 22nd at 7 PM on ABC, with Neil Patrick Harris as the Master of Ceremonies.

One thought on “2015 Oscar Predictions Part I

Leave a Reply

