My top 5 begins tomorrow

For the third consecutive year, I will post my top five films of 2014 starting tomorrow. Traditionally, I post my list the day after New Years, meaning tomorrow starting with my #5 movie of the year. The day after tomorrow, I post my #4 movie of the year, day after that, my #3 and etc. How I rank my favorites list is somewhat difficult to explain because even though every movie I see is unique in one fashion or another, I always look for structure, impact, quality, technical prowess; my top five list are the movies that I deem the most well-crafted and expert films of the year. I do this to pay homage to films of last year, while preparing for the films coming this year. Stay tuned over the next few days. Sidenote: feel free to rummage around my archives to check out my top five list of last year and the year before.

Leave a Reply

