The Critics Have Chosen the nominees

The BFCA are usually good indicators for what could happen on Oscar Night

One of the major precursors to the Academy Awards, other than the Screen Actors Guild Awards and the Golden Globes, have been the decisions of the Broadcast Film Critics Association, who hold the Annual Critics Choice Movie Awards every year. Today, the nominees for the 19th Annual Critics Choice Awards have been announced, so let’s focus on what I like to call the “Big 8”: the two screenplay categories, the four acting categories, the Best Director Category and finally Best Picture.

Best Original Screenplay:

  • Eric Warren Singer & David O. Russell-“American Hustle”
  • Woody Allen-“Blue Jasmine”
  • Spike Jonze-“Her”
  • The Coen Brothers (Joel & Ethan Coen)-“Inside Llewyn Davis”
  • Bob Nelson-“Nebraska”

Best Adapted Screenplay:

  • Tracy Letts-“August: Osage County”
  • Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy & Ethan Hawke-“Before Midnight”
  • Billy Ray-“Captain Phillips”
  • Steve Coogan & Jeff Pope-“Philomena”
  • John Ridley-“12 Years a Slave”
  • Terrence Winter-“The Wolf of Wall Street”

Best Actress in a Supporting Role:

  • Scarlett Johansson-“Her”
  • Jennifer Lawrence-“American Hustle”
  • Lupita Nyong’o-“12 Years a Slave”
  • Julia Roberts-“August: Osage County”
  • Jane Squibb-“Nebraska”
  • Oprah Winfrey-“Lee Daniel’s ‘The Butler'”

Best Actor in a Supporting Role:

  • Barkhad Abdi-“Captain Phillips”
  • Daniel Brühl-“Rush”
  • Bradley Cooper-“American Hustle”
  • Michael Fassbender-“12 Years a Slave”
  • James Gandolfini-“Enough Said”
  • Jared Leto-“Dallas Buyers Club”

Best Actress in a Leading Role:

  • Cate Blanchett-“Blue Jasmine”
  • Sandra Bullock-“Gravity”
  • Judi Dench-“Philomena”
  • Brie Larson-“Short Term 12”
  • Meryl Streep-“August: Osage County”
  • Emma Thompson-“Saving Mr. Banks”

Best Actor in a Leading Role:

  • Christian Bale-“American Hustle”
  • Bruce Dern-“Nebraska”
  • Chiwetel Ejiofor-“12 Years a Slave”
  • Tom Hanks-“Captain Phillips”
  • Matthew McConaghuey-“Dallas Buyers Club”
  • Robert Redford-“All is Lost”

Best Director:

  • Alfonso Cuarón-“Gravity”
  • Paul Greengrass-“Captain Phillips”
  • Spike Jonze-“Her”
  • Steve McQueen-“12 Years a Slave”
  • David O. Russell-“American Hustle”
  • Martin Scorsese-“The Wolf of Wall Street”

Best Picture:

  • American Hustle
  • Captain Phillips
  • Dallas Buyers Club
  • Gravity
  • Her
  • Inside Llewyn Davis
  • Nebraska
  • Saving Mr. Banks
  • 12 Years a Slave
  • The Wolf of Wall Street

The full list of nominees can be found here. The 19th Critics Choice Movie Awards will be broadcast live on the CW Network on January 16, 2014.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s