Movie of the week: Amour

Emmanuelle Riva stars in the foreign feature titled “Amour”

Sorry for the delay everyone. With Awards Season well underway, there hasn’t been much news regarding what is out there in the world of cinema, relative to the news of what movie is going to win what specific award. Fortunately, I ran across some good news for the blog: I found “Amour.” Yes, I found the limited-released, French spoken, Academy Award nominee for Best Picture directed by Michael Haneke about an octogenarian couple whose love is put the ultimate test. Anne, played by Emmanuelle Riva, suffers a stroke and her husband Georges, played Jean-Louis Trintignant, assumes the role of her full-time caretaker. Anne and Georges have become somewhat secluded from society since retiring from their jobs as classical music teachers but have no idea how much until their adult daughter Eva, played by Isabelle Huppert, pays them a visit.

What am I expecting to see?: I expect to see a film that deserves so much recognition and acclaim to be considered a Best Picture nominee. I never even heard of this movie and even if I did, I’m sure I would be curious to see it but when this movie earned a Best Director (Haneke), Actress (Riva), Original Screenplay (Haneke) and Best Picture Oscar nominations, I made this movie a priority. I don’t know what to expect from “Amour” but I hope to see a high-caliber and artistic motion picture. Surely the notoriety this film acquired at the Cannes film festival catapulted it to the Academy’s attention and now this movie has my full attention.

Leave a Reply

