Hey there moviegoers!

If anyone out there is reading this, I hope they find something that will keep them coming back. Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Jarred Braxton,This is me I’m an aspiring movie critic who is looking for work, preferably somewhere in the media industry, still mastering the art of driving, contemplating graduate school, cheering for the San Diego Chargers, despite the grief that comes with it, and most importantly, venturing to my favorite cinema, almost every week, to view a certain movie that has caught my attention. I love going to the movies and more importantly, I love watching movies. I have loved movies ever since I was a child and I have no doubt that I will continue to love motion pictures.

I wish I could take credit for making this blog on my own but my mother and a client of her’s deserve credit. After we exited the auditorium from watching “Skyfall,” which I found very entertaining, my mother recalled a conversation she had with a client in her salon. “She has a friend in the journalism industry and she said that if you create and maintain a blog, maybe people will read it. If people like your writing style, you could get a job.” I thought, eh why not? Since I still had a WordPress account from an old college course from last year, I just dug it up and made it useful. I figure it will be like writing for the school paper again and I could place my movie reviews here and hope someone reads it. Maybe someone will hire me, maybe they won’t but, it would be nice to place my movie reviews somewhere I can rely upon.

Many critics have different styles of evaluating films; some take an intelligent approach, utilizing what they have learned through film history and their own movie-going experience to break a film down into its simplest components and determine its value. My personal style is rather simplistic. I give a detailed-yet-brief description of the film I will view, provide reasonable and understandable reasons as to why it is good or bad, and recommend if it is worth seeing or skipping. I see my style as rather conversational and informative and I attempt to speak to the fellow moviegoer who reads this (hopefully). I hope my reviews persuade you to take an interest and I welcome feedback to what I write, whether one agrees or disagrees.

I will post from time-to-time. I figure, I will post a post on the movie I will see this weekend or weekday, what I’m looking forward to about it, when I will see it, and the review itself. Since I get most of my moviegoing information via Fandango I guess that if Fandango posts something of interest, I can place my feedback on breaking news in the industry here. In short, I will post my moviegoing experience and interests right here.

Well moviegoers, this is me and my blog. I think I picked a great time to start since this is the season where all of the Oscar contenders come out to play. Speaking of Oscar contenders, I have my eye on one this weekend and I can’t wait to it. Don’t worry, I’ll keep you in the loop as to what it might be. I really hope you enjoy this blog as much as I hope to find something fulfilling from it. I love the movies and this blog will hopefully show. I promise to be honest, fair and reliable when it comes to recommending movies. Hopefully, I’ll see you at the movies very soon. It’s showtime for the blog.

One thought on “Hey there moviegoers!

Leave a Reply

